Bob Seger & Gordon Lightfoot Included In Songwriters Hall Of Fame Class of 2012

[photogallerylink id=41671 align=left]The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its Class of 2012. Heading the list of inductees are Bob Seger and Gordon Lightfoot. Seger, who’s sold more than 50 million records in his career, is being honored for such hits as “Night Moves” and “Like a Rock.” Lightfoot is best known for the ’70s classics “Sundown” and “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald.”

Artists like Bob Dylan, Elvis Presley, Barbra Streisand, Peter Paul and Mary, Richie Havens, Glen Campbell and Anne Murray have covered compositions by Lightfoot.

Joining Seger and Lightfoot in the Class of 2012:

  • Jim Steinman, who wrote the songs on Meat Loaf’s Bat Out of Hell, as well as “Total Eclipse of the Heart” for Bonnie Tyler and Air Supply’s “Making Love Out of Nothing at All.”
  • Don Schlitz, the Nashville tunesmith who wrote “The Gambler” for Kenny Rogers and has since penned 24 songs that topped the country charts.
  • The team of Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones, who made their mark with the score for The Fantastiks, the longest running musical of all time.
  • These five inductees, with other special award recipients, will be honored on June 14th at the Marriott Marquis in New York.

More on


More From 98.5 WNCX

Buy Your 92.3 The Fan Official The Curse Is Over T-Shirt
Wednesdays On The Water
30th Anniversary

Listen Live